Category Archives: Uncategorized

Tales of the Sunrise Lands Anthology

I’m pleased to announce that Guardbridge Books has published Tales of the Sunrise Lands: Anthology of Fantasy Japan, with one of my stories (“The Three”) included:

SunriseLands-Cover-front-UK-800px

Every story in the anthology takes place in a fantasy version of historical Japan. Mine is about a (magical) calligrapher, a warrior monk, and a wandering musician who band together to save a village from a belligerent daimyo. Think of it as a samurai tale in the vein of “Yojimbo” or “Lone Wolf and Cub,” but with a fantasy twist. I haven’t read the others yet, but from the names and descriptions on display I’m expecting some really excellent work.

The book can be purchased on Amazon or directly from Guardbridge (UK only).

Go check it out!

Advertisements

Summer News Update

Hey! Just a quick update on writing related stuff for 2017.

The biggest news is that ANKARAN IMMERSION is officially in production. I received first pass edits and have been going through the suggestions as well as doing a little tightening of my own while I have the chance. I’m sure when all is said and done I’ll be sick of reading this book, but for now I remain amazed at how well it came together and at the moment I’m super excited to share it with everyone.

Meanwhile, AETHERIA’S DAEMON is out and going strong, and I’d like to thank everyone again for their support in getting it launched. One small bit of news is that it’s entered in the SPFBO, which is a contest run by award-winning fantasy author Mark Lawrence. Given the amount of competition my odds of winning anything are rather slim, but it’s still fun to follow along either on Mark’s site or using the #spfbo hashtag on Twitter, and I’m sure in the end some really awesome books will come to more public attention as they have in previous years.

New(er) work: I completed an outline for a new science fiction novel, with the working title of (big reveal alert) BOUNDARY CONDITION. The book will be similar to ANKARAN IMMERSION in some ways. They’re both science fiction and they’re both a manageable length (~85k words, though obviously I don’t know the exact length of BOUNDARY CONDITION yet). But there are differences: the main characters in BOUNDARY CONDITION are older, the world is utopian and not post-apocalyptic, and a good portion of it takes place in space, which makes it easier to slot into the “classic” sci-fi mode, whereas ANKARAN IMMERSION is much more influenced by anime and the like. It’ll be great!

Hope everyone has a nice summer (or winter for those of you in the Southern Hemisphere and/or Westeros) planned. More news as it comes later.

Aetheria’s Daemon Release

I’m very pleased to announce the release of my second full-length novel, AETHERIA’S DAEMON, an epic fantasy of 155,000 words.

First up, the goods. Here’s the cover:

Aetheria's Daemon - Ebook Smaller

The book takes place in the world of Aetheria, where a thought can conjure any object into existence—temporarily, at least—and humans are ageless. New people appear seemingly at random, and no one knows exactly why. Until…

Meli, a practitioner of the arts of plant and animal creation, has a dream in which she is holding a baby, something no one in Aetheria has heard of before. Drawn by a powerful urge to find the truth behind her vision, she recruits Ariden, an unsociable vagabond and legendary fighter, and Karis, an aged airship engineer with the appearance of a teen girl, to help her make a perilous journey across the ocean.

What follows thereafter is an epic adventure through a world of immortals, ancient gods, giant monsters, murderous plants, gladiatorial pankration, airship battles, and general drama/mayhem.

If that sounds like something you might enjoy, head over to the book page for links to purchase or download a sample.

Secondly, my usual gentle reminder: adding books to your shelves on Goodreads, rating them and especially leaving reviews on Amazon is immensely helpful for me (and every other author).

Finally, please note that this book should not be confused with ANKARAN IMMERSION, which is coming out later this year from Dragon Moon Press. Much more will be forthcoming on that, so watch for more news later this year.

Now, go read my book!

Guest Episode of “That Which is Known” Podcast

That Which is Known is a five-minute, weekly podcast by author Michael Coorlim, in which he presents interesting facts on topics of research relevant to what he’s writing. Recently he put out an open call for others to produce guest episodes with the same format, and I volunteered to record one on the topic of alternate universes, with a tie-in of course to my work on the Reintegrators.

The episode is up now at the TWIK site (and on iTunes and what-have-you):

http://www.thatwhichisknown.com/2015/05/twik016-will-weisser-on-parallel-universes/

A small, blog-only “fun fact”: I was familiar with the many-worlds interpretation of Q.M. when I started writing the Reintegrators, but the “ultimate ensemble” idea (which Kevin explains to Teddy in chapter 5, though he doesn’t name it as such) was something I came up on my own, and that in turn led to the genesis of the entire book. It wasn’t until later that I found out about Dr. Tegmark’s work, and was quite pleased that an air of authenticity had thus been laid over the whole thing ;P.

Anyway, check out the podcast if you want to hear my sultry radio voice. I also recommend Mr. Coorlim’s fiction for fans of steampunk mysteries. I’m considering doing more stuff like this in the future, so if you’d like to see more, let me know in the usual places.

Mid-Summer Update

Random news items:

  • I finished polishing Aetheria’s Daemon! Hooray! I can officially say I’ve written a 500+ page novel, and no matter what ends up happening with it, that still comes with a nice sense of accomplishment.
  • I have two short stories finished and critiqued which could both theoretically be given a final draft and then sent around. I’m not in a particular rush to do this as I feel that writing more novels is what will help me accomplish my goals the fastest. Shorts can be a fun diversion, but they eat up time like crazy which could be better spent on…
  • …a new novel project, tentatively titled Core Immersion. It’s sort of a post-apocalyptic meets cyberpunk. Outline is done, and I’m six chapters into the first draft as I write this. Aiming for around 100k words total, and since I know where I’m going with it (unlike when I started Aetheria’s Daemon), I’m hoping I will be able to get it done relatively quickly.
  • Since WorldCon is in London this year and that’s a bit out of my price/time range for travel, I’m going to be at DragonCon on August 29-31st. Yes, there is NASFiC of course, but for me it’s just a lot easier logistically and financially to go to Atlanta than Detroit. I’ve never been to DragonCon before, so hopefully it will be a fun and productive weekend.

Stay frosty.

Aetheria’s Daemon in Beta

As of last night, the second draft of Aetheria’s Daemon is complete. Smug self-satisfaction levels are at an all-time high, though no other super powers have yet developed.

In all seriousness, I feel I’ve come out of a bit of a battle.  This book did some serious ballooning in length from my original plan of 100k words, and ended up a bit over 152k. That might not be a lot for some people, but it was for me, and the sheer amount of work to get it into its proto-complete state was grueling and may have even left me with some lingering health issues.

But still, I finished the revision. The ending was even better than I remember when I first wrote it (of course, adding some foreshadowing and callbacks during the second draft may have helped with that). The book is ambitious, a sprawling but intimate adventure fantasy with elements of science fiction and steampunk, in a world unlike any you’ve seen before. I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished, though that could change depending on whether the early readers say I’m a deluded fool or not :-).

So, I’m handing off Aetheria’s Daemon to said beta readers for now, and turning my attention to other things until they’re done with it. I have a short story which needs polishing, and I need to help edit my father’s next book (you didn’t know my dad writes books too? And my mom also! What a family). I have some reading to do, including research which might influence which project I undertake next. And most of all I need to take it easy and recover from the  pace of editing so many words in a relatively short time. And eat some celebratory cookies. Many, many cookies.